Stephen L. Thompson’s June 2013 Newsletter

Howdy,
Welcome to my electronic newsletter, covering June 2013. Sorry this is a bit late, but these last few weeks have been a bit hectic.

* * *

My publication news for the past month:
Publication of my poems “A Price too High” and “For the Public Health” on my Bubblews Profile.
Publication of my stories “Figures,” “Hmmm,” “You Didn’t Pray Hard Enough,” “Details,” “Hot Heads,” “House Call,” “The Buzzing of Flies,” “A Not so Different Future,” “Heartbeat of the Night,” “For Want of a Pen,” “Directions,” “Woggy,” and “Memories” as part of my 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenge.

* * *

This month I wrote 7,914 words giving me a yearly total so far of 54,295. To reach my goal of 120,000 words this year, I’ll really need to step things up.

* * *

In June I ran my yearly 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenge, but things didn’t go so well this year. I only managed to put up thirteen stories. There are several reasons for this. One, I was sick for a few days which really slowed things down. Two, with good weather (for the first half of the month) there were all sorts of things I needed to do outside, which cut into my writing time. These two things combined to take away my momentum, which really floored me.

Hopefully, when I do this next year in September, things won’t take away my momentum and I’ll get back to writing thirty stories in as many days.

* * *

Here’s a photo of my story board at the end of June.

june

* * *

I’m always looking for new ways to spread the word about myself and my writing. The latest idea I came up with, was to ask that the readers of this post – if you’d be so kind – tweet out a message for me. The message being: “Check out Stephen L. Thompson’s Newsletter – http://bit.ly/12cUyt4 #sltnews #writing” The #sltnews bit will let me see who tweets this. It’s an experiment, so we’ll see how it goes.

* * *

I didn’t get around to writing a haiku in June.
Sorry,
Steve

One Response to “Stephen L. Thompson’s June 2013 Newsletter”

  1. You aren’t the only one who lost writing time while taking care of things outside! I wish the weeds would stop growing!

Leave a Reply

