30 Stories in 30 Days #06 – “House Call”

HOUSE CALL

Right at 1:00 PM, Doctor Baker’s secretary program announced, “Doctor, your one o’clock has called in.”

Working on a report, Baker replied, “Thank you.  Would you display their information.”

Finishing a sentence, Baker looked up to a holographic screen and studied the patient information for a few seconds.  “Put them through,” he finally said.

A second holographic screen appeared showing a generic female face.  In an equally generic voice, she said, “Good afternoon, Doctor Baker.”

“Good afternoon, 419 Elm.  I see on your record that your tenant recently died.”

“That’s correct.”

“I’m sorry for your lose.”

“Thank you.  She had a long, good life, but I will miss her.”

Baker smiled.  “Well, I see you are interested in a major remodeling.  What exactly did you have in mind?”

“Well, it’s been thirty-two years since my last remodeling, and that was just rearranging some of the rooms.  At first, I was thinking of just some sprucing up before I went back on the market, but I think this time I’d like to house a family.”

“I see.”

“Yes, so I was thinking of an addition for a rec room, and an additional bedroom and bathroom.”

“Did you want to make any changes to your existing rooms?”

“Nothing drastic.  Just small changes to make sure everything fits together.  Also, I want to get an update on my security systems as well as my interactive capabilities.”

Baker nodded.  “Very well.  I will take a look at your floor plan and basic code, and see what I can come up with.  What would be a good time to go over that with you?”

“Whatever time works best for you, Doctor.”

His secretary program had displayed his appointment calendar, and Baker studied it for a moment.  “How about tomorrow at 2:30?”

“That’s fine.”

“I’ll see you then.”

“Thank you, Doctor.  Goodbye.”

“Goodbye.”

One Response to “30 Stories in 30 Days #06 – “House Call””

  1. Several years ago, a friend started writing a story about a sentient “vehicle.” (It would take too long to explain more.) So a couple of years ago, I came up with an idea for a story that “borrows” the sentient vehicle idea. But why stop at vehicles? What about sentient homes? With that, I realized for remodeling, you’d call a cosmetic surgeon.

Leave a Reply

