Stephen L. Thompson’s May 2013 Newsletter

Howdy,
Welcome to my electronic newsletter, covering May 2013.

* * *

My publication news for the past month:
Publication of my short story “Four Score and Dear God!” on my Bubblews Profile.

* * *

This month I wrote 5,699 words giving me a yearly total so far of 46,381.  To reach my goal of 120,000 words this year, I’ll need to step things up.

* * *

Something that should step things up, is that in June I will once again have my 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenge.  For the past week or so, I’ve been feeling a little worried about the idea.  For the past month or so, I’ve had the writing blahs.  That and my not taking to the heat is part of the reasoning why my writing was so low in May.  So I was worried I wouldn’t have the oomph for writing thirty stories.  But in the past day or so, I’ve come up with several little ideas that I’ve had to restrain myself from starting on.  That’s one of my rules, I can come up with an idea now, but I can’t write it until June.  So you’re going to have to come back and see how I’m doing.

* * *

I’m always looking for new ways to spread the word about myself and my writing.  The latest idea I came up with, was to ask that the readers of this post – if you’d be so kind – tweet out a message for me.  The message being: “Check out Stephen L. Thompson’s Newsletter – http://bit.ly/12cUyt4 #sltnews #writing” The #sltnews bit will let me see who tweets this.  It’s an experiment, so we’ll see how it goes.

* * *

One of the non-writing things I did in May was help plant some of our garden.  It was while thinking about that that I came up with the following haiku.
Enjoy,
Steve

dripping sweat upon
rough ground – prelude to the fall’s
sweat dripping harvest

Leave a Reply

