Cover question, Part 2

So last week I posed a question about the working cover for “Lonely Phoenix,” the story I hope to publish in the next few days.  After reading through the comments and what was, and wasn’t, said, I’ve made a few changes.  This is the new version of the cover.

LP1

Not only would I like your thoughts on it, but also your thoughts on my working description of the story.

Partway to a new colony world, board member Geoffrey Ames is woken from hibernation by the caretaking crew of the Lucian.  They require him to look into the matter of their fellow crewman Morgan Heller.  Morgan’s claims – such as being over 1500 years old – would normally land him in the psychiatric ward, except he can back up some of his other claims.

Thank you for all your comments.

#

Something I should have had on my last post, is that the background image is a very, very, very small part of the European Southern Observatory’s “VISTA gigapixel mosaic of the central parts of the Milky Way.” Credit: ESO/VVV Survey/D. Minniti.  Acknowledgement: Ignacio Toledo, Martin Kornmesser

4 Responses to “Cover question, Part 2”

  1. space is incredible 🙂 i like it

  2. Sounds very enticing. I love sci fi and the idea of extreme longevity. The stars are very rich!

  3. The cover is a bit plain for my tastes, to be honest. There’s not really anything about it that grabs me at the moment. I would really suggest two things:

    – Put something big and eye-catching right in the middle of the page. That little spaceship on the right is quite hard to notice, which is not what you want.

    – Try to spruce up your font a little. Right now, it looks rather basic.

    Your blurb is good on the whole, but ends on a low note; it feels as though there is a sentence or two missing from the end.

    …sorry if I came across as overly critical up there. Without knowing anything about the execution, the concept behind this story sounds solid. I wish you the best of luck with this.

  4. Samida Wendel (@otaida) Says:

    space is very big…

Leave a Reply

