Stephen L. Thompson’s December 2012 Newsletter

Howdy,

Welcome to my electronic newsletter, covering December 2012.

* * *

My publication news for the past month:

None.

* * *

This month I wrote 4,832 words, giving me a yearly total of 88,100.  My goal was 80,000 words, so I easily met it.  I also wrote every day of the month.

* * *

Here is my quarterly photo of my story board.

dec

I reworked it recently.  The stories at the upper left are ones that are done or need one more polish.  The ones on the upper right are ones I’m writing, or need major revisions.  And the stories on the bottom are the ones I haven’t started yet, or have barely started.  For right now, they’ll have to wait.

* * *

Now, what will I do in 2013?  First off, I had thought of setting my goal of words at 100,000, but I figured I should really go for a challenge.  Therefore, my aim is to write 120,000 words in 2013.  This means I’ll need to write about 330 words a day, and in 2012 I averaged about 240, so I’ll really need to get my butt in gear.  Also, last year I tried writing a chapter each week of my novel None of Them Knew the Color of the Sky.  I suspended it so I could work on my anthologies.  I do plan on self-publishing one anthology this year (The Uncapped Pen, which I have started working on), but I probably won’t publish it until the fall, so I have no excuse not to go back to working in my novel.  I goal is to finish the first draft this year.  I do have a few other little writing goals, but it would be too confusing to try to keep track of them all.

* * *

An example of one of my little writing goals is to write four haiku each week.  The reason is that I plans for two collections of haiku I want to self-publish on Kindle this year and I need haikus to fill them.  So if I’m writing a bunch of haiku, I shouldn’t have a problem writing one for my newsletter.

Enjoy,

Steve

 

deep blanket of snow

covers the yard – all is still

time to be writing

One Response to “Stephen L. Thompson’s December 2012 Newsletter”

  1. […] I pointed out in my December Newsletter, one of my goals for this year was to write 120,000 words, which nicely works out to having to […]

Leave a Reply

