Novels in a few sentences

Here’s another little gem I found in my old writing notebooks.  A few years ago, I heard somewhere that a good exercise for creating pitches was to describe your novel in three sentences.  So I tried it with two of my ideas.  The first is for None of Them Knew the Color of the Sky, which I’m half done with and hope to finish next year.  This one I did in only one sentence.

Will a treasure from the past be enough to unite the survivors of a nuclear war; or, are arrogance, mistrust, and hatred too akin to cockroaches?

The second was for Damocles, something I’ve only done a little bit with, and is three sentences.

Most people go through their day-to-day lives worrying about “important” things: career, money, marriage.  But what if one morning everyone wakes up to learn that in four days there will be destruction on an unprecedented scale killing tens of millions and there is nothing we can do to stop it.  What becomes important then?

It’s a cool exercise, but I think I need to spend more time finishing my novels than trying to describe them.

Leave a Reply

