What writing means to me

I’m going through my writing notebooks, and I came across something from several years ago I felt I should share.  At a writing group meeting, we had an exercise of coming up with one word that describes what writing means to us.  I debated between knowledge, immortality, and freedom.  I was going to go with freedom, but the woman leading the group used that as an example, so I went with immortality instead.  This is what I wrote.

The one thing I would like most in life would to be immortal.  I want to know how things turn out.  I want to see what is going on a hundred, a thousand, a billion years from now.  Since it is a safe bet that I won’t be around a billion years from now, I have to imagine what it will be like.  Since I’m already there in my mind, doesn’t that mean I’m there?

Leave a Reply

