Should I be concerned?

I don’t know how often I’ve heard people discussing how dark scifi is these days.  Some complain that older scifi was more often a fun adventure with fascinating technology on strange worlds, whereas nowadays everything is dystopian.  As I said, I’ve been hearing this for some time and I figured writing a fun adventure tale with fascinating technology on strange worlds would be a good move.  So last night (really this morning) when I was trying to fall asleep, I came up with an interesting premise for a story that would be choked full of bizarre technology.  I thought up a few little details, but I had no idea what the plot would be.  Well, this afternoon I sat down to type up some of my thoughts for the story.  I started thinking about where the story would go.  I only jotted down a few ideas because I have a ton of other projects I need to work on already.  Anyway, it wasn’t until a few hours later that I realized yes there would be bizarre technology, but the ideas I was coming up with were for a dark, possibly dystopian world.   Should I be concerned at how easy it seems for me to slip into a dystopian plot?

One Response to “Should I be concerned?”

  1. Dystopian seems to be the ‘in’ thing now. I say go with the new idea and see where it leads. Maybe it will end up having a happy ending!

Leave a Reply

