Weight Off My Shoulders

For those of you who didn’t already know, I’m working on my third story anthology.  Here is the initial cover idea:

Yes, I’m taking advantage of the brouhaha over the 2012 Election by hoping to release a collection of political stories.  😀

Anyway, at some point I counted up all the stories I had written (most of which had already been published) and the ones I hoped to finish and had about forty.  So I figured it would be a collection of forty stories.  So far, so good.  But as I worked on it, I came to realize that a few of the stories didn’t fit.  They were either too dated, too naive, or just sucked.  Last week I went through all the stories again and ended up dropping two more, leaving me with only thirty-eight stories.  I did come up with a new idea, and I’m still working on it, but what could I use for the fortieth story?  I’m pretty sure that between the heat and that I’m just sick of politics, my story generator isn’t working that well.  In desperation, I went through some stories I had online – hoping for some inspiration – when I came across a story that was perfect for the collection but I had forgotten to include it.  I have my fortieth story!  Now all I need to do is rearrange a few things, finish writing a couple of the stories, and give the whole thing a polish, and I’ll be done with the first draft.

This is a huge weight off my shoulders.  I was beginning to seriously doubt that I could finish the first draft by the end of the month, but now I think I may finish it this weekend.  I think the worry of not coming up with a fortieth story was making me dread working on the collection, but now there’s a level of excitement because I’m almost done with the damn thing.

Leave a Reply

