30 Stories in 30 Days #17 – “Quieting the Voices”

Quieting the Voices

Veronica sat at her desk staring blankly at her computer screen.  Closing her eyes she rubbed her temples and stated, “I’m too tired to write.  Why won’t you be quiet?”

No answer came.  She sighed.  With her eyes closed her hand opened the lower drawer of her desk and – by feel – found the specialized screwdriver.  Opening her eyes, Veronica looked at the screwdriver for several moments.

She shook her head and said, “I need to sleep.  You’re making me do this.” She inserted the screwdriver in the port behind her right ear.  Giving it a quarter turn opened an access panel in her skull.  From long practice, Veronica was able to reach in and disconnect her imagination.

A relaxing peace flowed over her.  All the ideas flying around her head trying to burst from her onto the screen were grounded leaving her mind still and quiet.

She closed the access panel and withdrew the screwdriver.  Without the story ideas screaming in her head, Veronica fell asleep as soon as she was in bed.

2 Responses to “30 Stories in 30 Days #17 – “Quieting the Voices””

  1. I’m a few stories behind with my challenge. I have five stories that I’ve started, two of which I’m not all that impressed with, but I hope to finish the other three this month. It’s just that usually in the middle of my challenge I want to give up because it’s become too stressful. I have a lot of ideas, but in the rush to get them out they clog up and that just increase the stress level. So I was sitting here debating if I should write or try to catch up on my sleep, when I thought, wouldn’t it be nice if I could just turn my imagination off for the night instead of having my ideas keep me awake? Hench this story.

  2. So many writers suffer “writer’s block,” so it’s refreshing to find a writer gushing with ideas, and good ones at that! Loved this story and plan on reading many more.

Leave a Reply

