30 Stories in 30 Days #3 – “Is That How it Works?”

Is That How it Works?

“Next question.”

A middle aged gentleman walked up to the microphone at the front of the auditorium.  He cleared his throat, then said, “Senator, on the campaign trail you have often stated that the rich and powerful – both individual and corporate – should receive tax breaks because they are the job creators.”

“That’s correct.”

The man took a piece of paper out of his pocket and unfolded it.  “Sir, I’ve been unemployed for twenty months now.” He held the piece of paper up so everyone could see it was a check.  “This is the last of my life savings.” He tossed the check up onto the stage about ten feet from the candidate.  “I give it to you so that you – as the nearest I’ll get to the rich and powerful – now have all of my money.  Now give me a goddamn job!”

One Response to “30 Stories in 30 Days #3 – “Is That How it Works?””

  1. I was on YouTube and watched a political clip. Someone in the comments had asked something along the lines of, “How much money do rich people need?” I replied, “All of it, of course,” which got me thinking about things and I just typed this up. It’s a joke that isn’t funny, just like American politics.

Leave a Reply

