Stephen L. Thompson’s March 2012 Newsletter

Howdy,

Welcome to my electronic newsletter, covering March 2012.

* * *

My publication news for the past month:

Publication of my story “A Clear View” on my Ficly account.

Acceptance of my story “Have to Learn the Hard Way” by AntipodeanSF to be published in May.

* * *

This month I wrote 3,322 words, giving me a yearly total so far of 18,642.  In order to reach my goal of 80,000 words this year, I needed to write – on average – 6,667 words a month, so I was off this month.  Part of that is because I was busy revising The All-You-Can-Read Buffet which counts as writing but doesn’t produce that many words.  Also, I felt a little blah at times this month so there were a few days where I just wrote a sentence and called it a day.  But I should easily make up for it in April (details below).

As I mentioned last month, March 9th marked my 100th day of writing!  However, about two weeks later there was a day where I didn’t write anything because I was worn out and needed a vacation.  But, I’ve given myself twenty non-writing days this year and so far I’ve only used the one, so that’s not bad.

As to my writing a chapter a week for my novel None of Them Knew the Color of the Sky, I’ve put that on hold while I work on other projects (details below), but I should get back to it in May.

* * *

After several revisions and untold hours fiddling with the format and numerous times I felt like smashing my computer because it wouldn’t do what I wanted it to do, I’ve uploaded The All-You-Can-Read Buffet to Createspace.  My hope is to get the proof copy and make sure everything is fine and officially launch it – when else – on Friday, April 13th.  Stay tuned for all of that.

* * *

Above I said I’d be busy in April.  Why?  Well, it’s my Fifth Annual 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenge!  It’s a time for me to try to write thirty stories in as many days and you get to watch a writer slowly go insane.  It’s fun for all, so be sure to check it out.

* * *

Here is my story board at the end of March:

 * * *

I swear, I started a story for this month, but I spent so much time fiddling with The All-You-Can-Read Buffet that I didn’t really have any energy left for other writing.  But I will promise to have a story for my May Newsletter, since I’ll be too busy in April.

Steve

2 Responses to “Stephen L. Thompson’s March 2012 Newsletter”

  1. Will be interesting to see how these emerge.

Leave a Reply

