Self-promotion palooza

I am going to be busy in April.  First off, if everything goes as planned – and so far, so good – about the middle of the month will be when my second story collection, The All-You-Can-Read Buffet, will be out.  I still need to double check the formatting and page numbers and I want to give it another polish, but my hope is to upload it to Createspace by the 31st.  I’ll get a proof copy, and if everything looks good, I’ll finalize it and it will go on sale.

While that is big news, most of the work is already done.  But I’ll be working hard in April because of my 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenge.  The concept is simple: produce thirty stories over a period of thirty days.  (Just click the link to read a more detailed accounting of this insanity.)  The first three years I tried this I succeeded in writing thirty stories, but last year – while I was in the middle of moving – I only wrote nineteen.  So this year I’ll be pushing myself to complete thirty stories.

What does that have to do with a self-promotion palooza?  Well, one of the points to my 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenge is to draw attention to myself and my writing.  That’s good normally, but especially important when you have a book about to go on sale.  So I’m trying to drum up interest: both for what I’m about to do and for what I’ve already done.  You can check out my website to find most of the stories I’ve written in the past like all 109 stories I’ve written for my previous 30 Stories in 30 Days Challenges, but there are fifty-three stories I’d like to draw your attention to.  Three are separate pieces while the remaining fifty are contained in my first story collection, A Man of Few Words.  Some information about these stories and links to all are below.

Now, if you’re thinking I’m just trying to draw your attention to my stories that you have to pay to read, I will point out that you can download “The Price to Pay” for free, which is ironic.  But to be blunt, part of why I’m trying to draw attention to my writing is so I can make some money off of it.  I have to pay my bills somehow.  😀

I hope you enjoy.

Steve

 

Story: “The Price to Pay

Price: Free

Formats: Various

“The Price to Pay” is a flash fiction story dealing with a consequence of detecting an alien signal.

 

Story: “An Ounce of Prevention

Price: $0.99

Format: Nook

Like most people, Jason Fisher wanted to make the world a better place. But he doubted he would ever have the chance to make much of a mark. Then a “woman” came to him, asking his help to save humanity by threatening it.

At roughly 5600 words, An Ounce of Prevention packs a lot into a few words.

 

Story: “Enigma

Price: $0.99

Formats: Kindle, Nook

“Enigma” is set in my Human Republic Universe, and consists of two parts.  Part I follows Carlos Molina, a maintenance man at a comet mining facility.  He is sent out to fix a problem with one of the automated miners.  In the process, he discovers a cube embedded in the comet’s nucleus.

Part II is set five years later and follows Doctor Susan Black, Director of Cube Studies.  With the upcoming anniversary of the discovery of the Molina Cube, she is deluged by news requests for comments.  During this she gives an interview to a student from her alma mater concerning the nature of the Cube.

When we do travel into space, we will discover many things we will never be able to explain.  We need to learn how to accept that basic fact.

 

Book: A Man of Few Words

Price: $7.00

Sellers: Various

A Man of Few Words is a collection of 50 of my flash fiction stories. How does a teenager work up the courage to call a girl? What would happen if a “T-Rex on steroids” attacked a city? Why do science fiction writers make the best lovers? These questions and more are explored using less than 1000 words and in various genres from humor to horror and general fiction to science fiction.

One Response to “Self-promotion palooza”

  1. Good luck. 30 stories in 30 days will be a real challenge.

Leave a Reply

