Nineteen stories in thirty days

Well, it had to happen sometime.  Some year where I didn’t meet my goal of writing thirty stories in thirty days.  The reasons I didn’t make it this year are several.  The first three years I did this, I spent several weeks to a month preparing; coming up with story ideas and thinking them through, almost writing them in my head.  (Which is okay, given the rules I made up for this.)  But this year, it was almost the end of May when I realized, Oh yeah, I’m doing my thirty stories thing next month.  So I was less prepared than I had been in previous years.  There was also a period early in the month where it was very hot and I just didn’t feel like doing anything.  Then, I quit my job and am in the process of moving.  So I’ve had to spend time with packing, and cleaning, and six hour drives.  And on top of that, I’ve also had some personal issues.  All together, it just added up to me not having the energy and my heart not being in it this year.  But still, nineteen stories in thirty days is still pretty good.  I know I still have a couple days to write eleven more, but I’m tapped out, so I’m stopping early.  In a few days I’ll get around and write up my thoughts about this year, and the change I’m planning starting next year.

2 Responses to “Nineteen stories in thirty days”

  1. […] You may have noticed that I only wrote 19 stories instead of 30 in June.  I did write up a blog post as to why I fell short. […]

  2. […] my challenge, it also means I’ve beaten what I wrote during last year’s Challenge.  As I’ve explained, I was in the process of moving then, so you have to cut me some slack with that.  I admit, for […]

Leave a Reply

