30 Stories in 30 Days #18 – “Land of the Dumb”

Land of the Dumb

 

As Jeff rolled to a stop at a red light, his wife Ann laughed.  “Look at that,” she said, pointing out the window.

“What am I looking at?” Jeff asked.

“Those two signs on the telephone pole.”

Jeff studied the two signs people had tacked to the pole.  The top one read “Gutters cleaned” and a phone number, while the bottom one read “I buy houses” and another number.  But the big difference was the gutter cleaner had printed their sign on stiff paper with a deep red ink, while the house buyer had just wrote on a regular sheet of paper with a black marker.

Jeff chuckled.  “I guess the house buying business isn’t doing so well.”

“I know,” Ann said.  “I mean, a handwritten sign is good for kids selling lemonade, but for an adult buying houses?  Who thinks that would be a good way to advertise?”

“Whoever put that sign up.”

Ann punched him lightly on the shoulder.  “You know what I mean.”

Jeff smiled and patted her thigh.  “I just wonder why you’re surprised.  Ninety percent of the news is about politicians or celebrities doing something stupid.  Why should John Q. Public be any smarter?”

One Response to “30 Stories in 30 Days #18 – “Land of the Dumb””

  1. I was driving the other day and I saw a hand written sign reading, “I buy houses,” and a phone number. I stared at it for a few seconds, and went, “Really?”

Leave a Reply

