30 Stories in 30 Days #3 – “A Downside to Success”

A Downside to Success

“What’cha reading?”

Sean glanced at his wife April and answered, “I had a little time to kill, so I searched for ‘The Final Death’ to see if anyone was talking about it.” Pointing at his computer screen he continued, “I came across this Annabelle’s Blog.  She has this fantastic overview of The Dead Man’s Chest and Corpse House, and then she started making predictions about The Final Death.”

“How accurate are they?”

“Pretty damn good.” Sean scrolled up the page and pointed at a paragraph of text.  “She predicts that one of the Ammon brothers will be killed because of all the named characters they’re the best to ‘produce a convenient victim’ without sidetracking the plot.  I had left what I thought were subtle hints about the picture in Bridgette’s locket, but she dug them all out to show that it’s a picture of Henry.  From that, she knows that Henry is Joseph’s father.  I was hoping that would be a bit of a shocker in the middle of the book, but now …”

Patting his shoulder, April asked, “And how many people will read this Annabelle’s Blog?”

“That’s not it.  It’s just that she was able to work it out so easily.”

April leaned down and gave him a hug.  “How many times have we been in bed reading and you’ve thrown a book down and gone into a ten minute rant about how simplistic the plot was and how you already knew whodunit?”

“Yeah, but,” Sean stammered, “that’s other authors.  This is me.”

April shook her head and kissed him on the cheek.  Standing up she said, “I thought authors were supposed to have thick skins.  Just be glad someone enjoys your books so much they think about them.  Now, what do you want for dinner?”

One Response to “30 Stories in 30 Days #3 – “A Downside to Success””

  1. I’m a fan of Doctor Who. Being popular, after every episode fans flock to the web to share their reactions and their pet theories about what will happen next. I was thinking about this after an episode and I wondered how it would feel to spend all that time working on some intricate story, only to have some schmuck online figure it out. I’ll admit, from time to time with various shows, I’ve enjoyed being the schmuck, but someday – I hope – to see it from the other side. I don’t think I’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

