Stephen L. Thompson’s May 2011 Newsletter

Howdy,

Welcome to my electronic newsletter, covering May 2011.

My publication news for the past month:

None.

* * *

This month I wrote 3,184 words, giving me a total this year of 16,169. Again my goal is to write a total of 50,000 words this year, so I need to get busy.

* * *

Here is my story board at the end of May:

* * *

Just a reminder, in June I will once again be challenging myself to write 30 Stories in 30 Days. This year I’m doing things a bit differently by posting my stories here on my blog instead of on my website.

* * *

I did get around to writing a story for this month. It actually follows from “Side Benefits,” the story I wrote for last month’s newsletter. Also, if my numbers are correct, this will be the 300th story I have self-published. It’s not much, but I’m saving up for my 30 Stories in 30 Days. Enjoy.

Steve

BEING SICK SUCKS

(Posted on the Living as a Writer blog)

I am blessed by the fact that I rarely get sick. And when I do, it’s not that bad. While everyone is running around trying to flee the flu and failing, I’ll just get a bit of a head cold for a couple of days and that’s it. Back in my wage slave days, if I felt “sick” I’d feel justified to call off work and spend the day sleeping, watching movies, reading, etc. This morning I woke with a bit of chest congestion, so this is the first time I’ve been sick since I slipped the shackles of my cubicle last month. While I hacked and coughed over some toast, I realized that before it was almost like taking a vacation to call off sick, which lifted my spirits. But now, there’s no vacation. I’m left just being sick. It’s like it was being sick on weekends, it just ruined the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

