Stephen L. Thompson’s April 2011 Newsletter

Howdy,

Welcome to my electronic newsletter, covering April 2011.

My publication news for the past month:

Publication of my story “The Perils of Spring”on my Ficly account.

Acceptance of my story “Housebreaking” by AntipodeanSF. It will be published – in print and as audio – in September.

* * *

This month I wrote 2,481 words, giving me a total this year of 12,985. Again my goal is to write a total of 50,000 words this year, so I need to get busy.

* * *

Here is my story board at the end of April:

It has already borne fruit.  I wrote “Housebreaking” sometime last year, but it was laid aside and buried until I dug it out to fill out my board.  Seeing that I had a finished story there, I started submitting it, and AntipodeanSF took it.  So I guess using a board was a good idea.  😀

* * *

I did get around to writing a story for this month. Enjoy.

Steve

SIDE BENEFITS

Much as the frog who doesn’t notice the slowly warming water, Nick remained unaware of the gently increasing patter of rain on his balcony.  It took the distant rumble of thunder to tip the balance.  Now that he was more awake than not, he noticed gravity pulling the rain to his balcony or the wind slamming it into the glass door.  It took half-an-hour – and half-a-dozen more cracks of thunder – to bring Nick fully awake.

He lay in bed – rolling to one side then rolling to the other – in the elusive quest to fall back asleep.  While he would have loved to get some more sleep, his bladder had other ideas.  As he walked out of his bathroom, his stomach grumbled, as if saying, “Since you’re up ….”

Nick went to the kitchen and took two slices of cold pizza out of the box in his refrigerator.  He ate them while standing at the door to his balcony watching the traffic slosh by on the street below.  The thunder had moved off and the wind had died down, leaving just a steady downpour.

After he finished the second slice, he crossed his arms and chuckled.  He then went to his computer and sat down.  He logged into his Living as a Writer blog and started a new post titled, Side Benefits.

It has been ten days since I left the slow death in a cubicle to take up writing full time.  This morning, I realized a side benefit to my new life.  It’s – as they say – raining cats and dogs out there.  Untold thousands of wage slaves are slogging their way through the cold, dreary misery to spend cold, dreary, miserable days somewhere they don’t want to be.  And I sit here in my dry, warm apartment.  If I do go outside today, it will be for the experience, not the yoke of employment.  Writers are like kids jumping into puddles.  Maybe I’ll do that this afternoon.

Nick posted the blog and again chuckled to himself.  He glanced once more at the rain, then went to work on his novel, his fingers drumming on the keys like the rain on his balcony.

2 Responses to “Stephen L. Thompson’s April 2011 Newsletter”

  1. Congrats on the accept at Antipodean. Well-done. Best of luck with the writing.

  2. […] writing a story for this month. It actually follows from “Side Benefits,” the story I wrote for last month’s newsletter. Also, if my numbers are correct, this will be the 300th story I have self-published. It’s not […]

Leave a Reply

