Can’t take my own advice, or can I?

I’ve just returned from a nice little walk where I’ve reached a decision about something that has been plaguing me for a while.  For the last few months, I’ve felt burned out writing-wise.  Given the twenty or so projects I’m working on, that shouldn’t be too surprising.  Trying to force myself to keep writing hasn’t been all that effective.  During my walk, I remembered what I did in similar, stressful situations back in college.  I’d take a day off.  I’d go to my classes, but I wouldn’t do any classwork.  A day (or two) spent listening to music, playing video games, reading, etc., was a great way to reduce stress.  So I figured I should do the same with the stress from my writing.  But I don’t think a day or two will be all I need.  Instead of trying to force myself to write, I’ll take a week or two and catch up on my reading, watch some movies, do stuff other than write and see if that will be a kinder, gentler way to ease back into writing.

So, five minutes after I decided to take a break from writing, I’m walking back to my apartment and I started composing a poem about having your wings clipped by your job.  Dammit.

4 Responses to “Can’t take my own advice, or can I?”

  1. […] day or two after coming to the conclusion that I needed to take some time off from writing, I came up with an idea for a novel.  Sigh.  Anyway, as part of my laying the groundwork for this […]

  2. […] day or two after coming to the conclusion that I needed to take some time off from writing, I came up with an idea for a novel.  Sigh.  Anyway, as part of my laying the groundwork for this […]

  3. […] day or two after coming to the conclusion that I needed to take some time off from writing, I came up with an idea for a novel.  Sigh.  Anyway, as part of my laying the groundwork for this […]

  4. […] back to writing Just over a week ago, I decided to take a break from writing.  I’ve been reading, relaxing, critiquing, and I came up with an idea for a novel.  But I […]

Leave a Reply

