Outdoor writing

Every time I go home for a visit, I usually take three or four books I want to finish and a dozen or so stories I want to critique, revise, or finish.  Of course, if I’m lucky, I may end up doing a tenth of what I’d planned.  My trip home for the Fourth was no exception, however, I did find a new place to work on writing.

In a shady part of our backyard, there’s a fire ring.  We’d start a fire in it in the morning, and keep it going until the evening.  We’d cook lunch and dinner over it and afterward just sit around laughing at the antics of my niece.  Well, the evening of the Fourth, everyone else had left or were inside and I was sitting by the fire alone.  With the cool breeze, crackle of the fire, smell of wood smoke, I didn’t want to leave.  Even being buzzed by hummingbirds was entertaining.  But I knew I should get some stories critiqued.  Do that out here, I thought.  What a wonderful idea.  So I ran in and got the stories and took them outside and critiqued and revised by the fire until it grew too dark.  Then I sat and listened to distant fireworks.  It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

