In a writing rut

I didn’t do much writing in April. I think the biggest reason was I had been trying to do too much and I wore myself out. No matter what I did it still seemed I had twenty more things to do. You can only do that for so long until it starts to wear on you. When that sort of thing happened to me in college, I’d take “a day off,” I would go to my classes, but I would spend the rest of the day reading, listening to music, playing video games. I wouldn’t write papers or homework or anything class related. So I decided to take some time off from writing to recharge my batteries.

Something else that cut into my writing was reading. Years ago I realized there are four, I guess you can call them chunks to my life. There is my 8:00 to 4:30 which I need to pay my bills, household stuff – sleeping, buying groceries, doing laundry – relaxation encompassing reading, watching TV, video games, and finally, writing. The problem is I only have the energy to really do three of these at a time. It sucks because I don’t have a choice for two of them. I can usually do a little bit of writing and a little bit of relaxing, but sometimes I need to fully veg. So while I didn’t get much writing done, I did do a lot of reading (and TV watching and video games.) Helping this was the recent heat wave. Instead of going to a coffee shop for tea and writing in 80° weather I’d rush home to flop down in the AC with a book. It does take me some time to adjust to the warmer weather, but a book and AC won’t hold me for long. My writing and reading are cyclical. I’ll focus on writing for a year or so, then I’ll feel guilty for not reading and focus on reading for a month or so. Then I’ll feel guilty for not writing …

One Response to “In a writing rut”

  1. […] a story, so I didn’t really have much time to prepare myself. And I was still coming out of a writing rut, so I was worried I might not be up to the task. Of course, knowing that I managed to do this last […]

Leave a Reply

