“The Invisible Cliff” Update

The Invisible Cliff” is a scifi tway (Twitter play) I’m working on. I had hoped to put it on sometime in late April, but May looks more likely. Here are how things currently stand.

The bulk of the tway consists of tweets going back and forth between five “characters.” I am pretty much done writing these tweets, but things always need polishing.

Since a tway is a bit of a weird concept, I’m planning on writing a “Read this first” explanation of how it will work, which I’ll post here. I have the basic idea in my head, but I need to sit down for an hour or so and write it out.

People who know my writing know I can pack a lot into a small space, but even I would feel constrained by 140 characters chunks. So within the tweets are links to other things that help the story along, or end it. The tway pretty much ends when one of the characters links to a website with a news article. I’ve pretty much had the website done, but it can still be polished.

At one point, one of the characters tweets that an organization has posted a blog concerning the situation at the heart of the tway. I’ve set up a fake blog for the organization and have written the blog mentioned in the tway, but I thought this would be a great way to flesh out the world using previous blog postings. I have a couple already up, but I need four or five more, at least. I’ve been busy lately, but I’m planning on spending this week working on the blog postings.

The last element of the tway are two, short YouTube videos. I’ve written the script for one and the other will probably take about ten minutes to write. I’ve set up a YouTube channel for the videos, once I have them. Now, getting the videos … that’s probably the biggest hold up I have. I have a couple friends in mind for the videos, and they seem intrigued, but the problem so far has been getting together to film the videos. I don’t have the best equipment for making videos (I’d like them not to be crappy) so if my stuff doesn’t really cut it, I may need to get another friend to help me, which means even more scheduling problems.

So, my plan is to have all the writing for this done by the end of the month and hopefully a better handle on the videos. If I remember, I’ll do another update at the beginning of next month.

One Response to ““The Invisible Cliff” Update”

  1. Gretchen Says:

    The more I read about this, the cooler it sounds! Keep me posted! Or, tell me where I need to register to keep updated!

Leave a Reply

