Consequences

Over the years my filing system for my stories – especially on my computer – have become rather convoluted. The last few months I’ve been slowly reorganizing all of them. This is good. It will make things easier for me. But there have been consequences. Along the way I’ve come across several stories that I started years ago but for one reason or another never finished. There’s nothing special about unfinished stories, but I can usually ignore them. But now they are in my hand and I can’t help but read what I already have, which reignites my desire to finish them. “If I spent a couple days on this, I’m sure I could finish it up.” That wouldn’t be bad, but I already have a pile of stories I’m trying to finish or revise. So by organizing my stories, I’ve ended up with more stories to work on. I think I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

