Writing Day

Nine years ago, I worked the night shift at a gas station that was part of a truck stop. There were busy nights, but there were also nights where there would be hours between customers. At first I read, but then I wondered if I could use the time to write. So, on December 3, 1999, I took a notebook with me and started writing down my thoughts on the book I was reading – The Picture of Dorian Gray.

I wrote up incidents with my coworkers and customers, dreams, story ideas, and even stories. Anything to keep me writing. And it worked. I went through that first notebook in two months. A year later I declared December 3rd Writing Day – a day for me to focus on my writing. A great idea, but over the last few years I seem to forget about it until I’m a day or two late. Like this year, when I remembered it on the 4th. I hope, the reason it’s no longer such a big deal is that writing has become an almost daily thing with me so that a once-a-year holiday for writing just doesn’t cut it.

Leave a Reply

