Cursed

On Saturday I went to have my oil changed and other maintenance before driving some 600 miles in the next week. It took a couple of hours but I walked around the mall and brought some magazines to read. But I didn’t want to start a long story or go for another walk when they were nearly done, so I ended up sitting in the waiting room watching Jane and the Dragon. I guess they keep the TV in the waiting room on the kids channel to help control any kids. Anyway, the sound was low and there were some technical difficulties so it kept fritzing out, but I gathered the basics of the show: there’s this girl and she has a dragon as a friend. Not knowing the back-story (until I looked it up online) I didn’t know if the dragon was the family pet or what. And that got me thinking. Why would a dragon be someone’s pet? A minute or two later, I had the general outline for the beginning of a fantasy tome. A thousand years ago (in this world of dragons, not 1008) the dragons were feared and did as they pleased. So there was a war between the dragons and the humans with the help of wizards. The dragons were tricked and defeated, and as punishment a spell was put on them to be dumb brutes. The head families took dragons to guard their castles. Generation after generation (of humans, dragons live for thousands of years) the war and the true nature of the dragons is forgotten, except by the wizards. The big moment comes when someone, for some reason, breaks the spell. I don’t know what happens after that. Do the dragons – the same ones who were tricked into loosing the war – take revenge, or have their years of imprisonment taught them humility?

The reason I titled this post “Cursed” is that this is a fun idea, but it is a safe bet that I will never have the time to write it. It’s probably every few months that I’ll come up with a really great idea, but I have to toss it aside because I already have ideas for over a hundred novels and – at best – I’ll only be able to write a fraction of them. Maybe I should have labeled this post “Ideas for sale.” Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

